School Houses

At Holy Rosary we run a house system. We have 4 school houses named after the Northern Saints. On entry to Reception, each child is assigned a house (The same as an older sibling if applicable) and remains a member of that house throughout their years at Holy Rosary. All children belong to one of these houses and works hard in class and around the school to win points and merits for their house. These rewards celebrate their successes, good behaviour and manners. A merit badge can be awarded for ‘outstanding’ school work. This is a very special award and one to be worn with pride!

Each week the house points are totalled and the winning house is announced in our celebration assembly, which is held every Friday afternoon. The winning house has the honour of tying their coloured house ribbons to the trophy, which has a place of honour in our school entrance.

Our House system fosters good relationships between the children in different year groups and encourages a sense of working together and pride.

Year 6 children act as Prefects and House Captains.

St Aidan – Red

St Bede – Yellow

St Cuthbert – Green

St Wilfred – Blue

Congratulations to Saint Cuthbert’s, who were the winning House for 2017/18, earning a massive 3,918 House points. Well done!